Albumin: a protein component in eggs.
Carmine (carmine cochineal or carminic acid): red coloring from ground up insects.
Casein (caseinate): milk protein.
Gelatin: ground up bones, cartilage, tendons and skin from animals.
Isinglass: enzyme from a fish bladder used in wine and beer to speed up fermenting.
Pepsin: from a pigs stomach, typically found in cheese.
Stearic acid (octadecanoic acid): tallow and other animal fats, found in vanilla flavorings and baked goods and sweets.
Vitamin B12: typically from animals but the synthetic form - cyanocobalamin or cobalamin - is vegan.
Vitamin D3: often sourced from lanolin, an oil excreted from the sebaceous glands of sheep or fish liver oils.
A Brief Guide to Vegan Substitutes
All your favorite dishes can be made vegan with some simple substitutes.